Error Copying Package to Volume in MDS

I’m just getting started with MDS, so maybe this is an easy one. I’m running MDS 1.3.1 on macOS 10.14.3 along with Winclone Pro 7.3.2.

I’m trying to create a workflow on an external hard drive that installs Windows from a Winclone package that creates a new partition that uses 90% of the destination drive and then installs Windows.

I’ve created and named the workflow and selected the folder that includes the Winclone package, but when I click “Save to Volume…” I get this error after a minute or two.

An error occurred embedding the package /var/folders/nc/8fd7l3w93h32nrvwcdw3zcgr0000gn/T/03262DBB-F5F7-4F2D-A0C9-2CC6C6F65975.pkg
Please check the package and free space and try again.

The drive I’m trying to install on is a 500 GB external SSD with nothing on it and is formatted as HFS+.

Hoping to verify that everything else seemed correct, I created a workflow to install a couple applications from their installer packages. This workflow was able to be sent to the drive correctly.

Any suggestions?

Update: I tried creating a new package that used an existing volume, but get the same error message.

it might be helpful to understand how MDS converts Winclone images for deployment and see if that helps figure out the issue you are having. MDS sees that the Winclone package is bundle type package and the macOS installer that MDS kicks off requires a flat package. To convert the Winclone package, the Winclone package is first copied from the source to a new folder on the source that has the package resources organized correctly. The package is then created. This package is then copied to the MDS Deploy workflow folder.

So it is possible that the source volume needs a lot of free space (up to 2X the size of the original package). Is it possible this is the issue?

We are looking at ways to optimize space usage in an upcoming update.

tim