Replacing disk in an older MacBook Pro

I have an old MacBook Pro (2009) running OS 10.11.6. (This is the latest Mac OS this computer can run.) In the Boot Camp partition I am running Windows 7. The old machine needs a new hard disk so this was purchased. It is not clear to me how to use Winclone (I am new to Winclone) to help image the new disk. Please add or correct as necessary, but I think I should follow the following steps:

1 Use Firewire to connect the new disk (mounted in a temporary enclosure) to the old Mac.
2 Partition the new HD with Disk Utility and create a Boot Camp partition the same size as current.
3 Install OS 10.11.6 on the new disk and migrate the old Mac apps and documents to the Mac
partition on the new disk.
(Do I need to use SysPrep at this point on Windows 7?)
4 Use Winclone (version?) to clone the old partition to the new. (Is this a straightforward operation?)
5 Move the new disk out of the temporary enclosure and put it in the old Mac.

Appreciate any help or advice you can provide.

Thanks,

John

The process you have outlined is correct. A good place to start is here:

You don’t have to use sysprep if the hardware you are restore the image to is the same or similar enough so other drivers in Windows are not needed.

tim